Reviews

 

nikkixx   Reviews and Notes from People who have had their Dogs stay at Wagadilly Cottage and be cared for by Anna James

Stephanie K.    FIVE STARS
Jan 14, 2020
VERIFIED STAY

I knew Henry was in great hands with Anna! She sent me photos and updates many times and he was clearly not missing his parents but having the time of his life! He was even wiped out long enough to adore me to catch up with work I fell behind on while on vacation. I will be using Anna again for sure!!

Brian B.     FIVE STARS
May 7, 2019
VERIFIED STAY

Dogs did great, plenty of room to roam, will definitely use again.

Robyn L.     FIVE STARS
Nov 7, 2018
VERIFIED STAY

This was my second visit with Anna and my pups enjoyed their stay just as much as the first time! She is amazing at what she does!

Alexia M.   FIVE STARS
June 11, 2018
VERIFIED STAY
Anna’s Wagadilly Cottage was a wonderful, beautiful, woodsy and rural place for my sweet pup Zoey, who is a lover of the outdoors and an independent kind of dog. I was so happy to get photos and updates just about every day, and since my time away was so long (24 or so days), I was glad to leave her with Anna and the other pooches at her place, where she could go out at will and got love and treats. Anna was very helpful, and I could tell I left Zoey with the right woman. I would definitely recommend Wagadilly, and will take Zoey there again should the need arise!
Alexia and Zoey
Janet C.     FIVE STARS
Sep 3, 2018
VERIFIED STAY

Anna was an outstanding dog sitter. I felt like she took care of my dog like her own. I would definitely use her services again and recommend her to other dog owners.


gorgeous-girl Chhoti while staying at Wagadilly; one of many photos sent to her Mom, Ashna
Ashna M.
Washington, DC
November, 2016
Awww, Anna, you are the best! Really. She clearly loves you, and by association, I love you too!!!
I will likely travel in January again, if not earlier (hopefully not!) and you will have her again then!!!
Thanks again Anna!! And I’ll be in touch!
Best wishes,
Ashna

imgp9125  Meg’s kids, Bess & Jem – helping in the kitchen at Wagadilly
Meg H.
July 27, 2016
What a wonderful find! Anna is so, so nice and full of kindness . Her love of animals comes through loud and clear. Our pups had a happy time at her magical place–they came home happy and tired. Anna sent us updates and photos which was wonderful!  I would not hesitate to recommend Anna to anyone. She will now be an important part of our lives!

 Mary M.   hops-and-opie  Mary’s kids, Hops & Opie “on patrol” in the Wagadilly Woods
Mary M.
June 27, 2016
Anna’s affection for dogs is obvious from the moment you speak with her! She was able to accommodate me at the last minute without any problems. She is an absolute professional and her property is gorgeous! My dogs had an amazing time and I will definitely be rebooking in the future!

 Terri W.
Terri W.
June 13, 2016
Anna took excellent care of our dogs while we were away on vacation. After taking our dogs for the initial meet and greet with Anna, I felt completely at ease and knew our “babies” would be in great hands while we were away. Both of our dogs had a wonderful time with Anna, and I enjoyed my vacation even more knowing that they were in a safe and loving home away from home!

Anna’s Reviews
Jeremy B.     FIVE STARS
March 16, 2017
Verified Stay
Anna is wonderful with our dogs and has ample room for our fur babies to run and play!

Jane M.    FIVE STARS
January 17, 2017
Verified Stay

Anna was wonderful. Anna’s set up is more than convenient and safe for outside/ inside play. I was able to receive pictures of our pup while he was there. It was very clear he had a blast and enjoyed his time. We were so happy with our very first boarding experience all because of Anna …

Mary M.   FIVE STARS
June 27, 2017
Verified Stay

Anna’s affection for dogs is obvious from the moment you speak with her! She was able to accommodate me at the last minute without any problems. She is an absolute professional and her property is gorgeous! My dogs had an amazing time and I will definitely be rebooking in the future!

 

Terri W.   FIVE STARS
June 13, 2017
Verified Stay

Anna took excellent care of our dogs while we were away on vacation. I felt completely at ease and knew our “babies” would be in great hands while we were away. Both of our dogs had a wonderful time with Anna, and I enjoyed my vacation even more knowing that they were in a safe and loving home away from home!

 

 

Notes from repeat Customers:

” Hi Anna,
I hope you are well! Amy and I boarded our dog, Hayden, with you over the summer. He had an amazing time, and actually came back more well-adjusted than when he left us. We were hoping to board Hayden with you again, as we have been worried that a series of unavoidable transitions has left him more reactive and anxious than we have seen him since he was a puppy. We are hoping to transition him to staying at home alone without being crated and he was ready for that after he was with you last time.
Best,
Spencer & Amy ”
** FYI – Hayden in in the last photo posted here …. he’s on the left (:
_________________________________________

“… Nothing about this place happened by accident. Anna has taken a lifelong love of animals and combined it with extraordinary intuition, sensitivity, knowledge and skills as a dog expert. Then she created an ideal physical environment in which to train and care for dogs. It’s truly amazing.”

Wagadilly Cottage is a Private Home with Three Fenced Acre Grounds – specifically designed for Dogs… inside & out! I offer In Home Dog Boarding (no cages, no kennels, dogs stay IN the house, on the furniture, sleep in my bed – or whatever you think is best for them) while here, they get to enjoy the Three Fenced Acres, that are my “yard” where they can play, jump, run, dig, sniff, chase and WHERE DOGS CAN BE DOGS! This is the perfect environment for Dogs who need to “blow-off steam”, or Get Socialized! , or GAIN CONFIDENCE and HAVE FUN & GET EXERCISE!
I also offer POSITIVE TRAINING combined with other methods and my own decades of experience from Living with Dogs.

Soma T
Anna took really good care of my dog. What I liked best is that there were no kennels. She sent pictures of him running around her fenced in property , looking happy as a clam. He is actually missing all his buddies and her. I would absolutely keep my dog with her again
Lisa S
Anna put me at ease immediately with boarding JoJo who I adopted just 1 week before I had to be out of town. Because JoJo and I were just getting to know each other, I didn’t have much background to share with Anna. Nonetheless, Anna was welcoming. She spent time with me giving this first time dog owner tips on some of JoJo’s behavior that I didn’t understand. It turns out, my dog isn’t a maniac, which was my inexperienced assessment – she was just REALLY excited to say hello. Thank goodness Anna set me straight 😀 Anna also sent me emails during JoJo’s vacation and fun photos. This was during the recent blizzard that left everyone 20-30 buried in snow. JoJo looked liked she had the time of life – I wish I could post a picture here. Without question, I’ll book with Anna again and again. Her experience, her way with dogs, her home, her property – everything was what I hoped to find. I stumbled on the web site and then to Anna’s profile. A stroke of luck indeed…many thanks Anna!!!

 

Note from recent Visitor:

” My grandfather used to say “Everybody wants to go to heaven, but nobody wants to die”. He was right. But Grandpa never visited Anna’s Wagadilly Cottage – that tiny, magical slice of doggie heaven in the beautiful woods. Anna’s cottage is a place that was conceived, designed and built exclusively for the happiness and safety of the lucky dogs who visit or live there.

A couple of years ago, we rescued a scared, scrawny, sick, hound mix puppy named Bailey. Bailey is now a healthy, sweet girl and a great dog, but even after 2 years of love and care, she’s still fearful and skittish. She often trembles in fear and tries to run and hide in new or scary situations. So, any time we’ve gone out of town, it’s been a challenge finding a place that we could trust to provide loving, secure boarding. Then we discovered Anna’s place. For us, the cottage represents an ideal solution to our problem. For Bailey, Anna’s cottage seems like heaven on earth. The property is special. It feels like it could have been created by a committee of dogs who provided their vision and directions to an attentive human being for implementation. Then, the human (Anna) carefully followed their guidance through the building process.

What makes Wagadilly so special? Everything! The 3 acre wooded compound is surrounded by a 6 foot high stockade fence with a double gated entrance. No distractions, no cars, no escapes. This small world is totally self contained. The canine guests are free to wander as they wish. Want to chase squirrels & chipmunks? Knock yourself out. Ready to stretch out for a nap in the sun? No worries – there’s plenty of space for alone time. Make yourself at home.

But that’s just the outside! Anna’s cottage in the woods looks like something out of a story book. Every aspect of this house was built with dog guests in mind. Here are the rules: Want to curl up on the sofa? Go ahead. Want to snooze and cuddle with your new best friend? There she is. Want to play? There’s always a pup ready to chase around around the kitchen. Want privacy? Snuggle in any of the dog sized nooks and crannies that are built into the shelves. Sleep alone, sleep on the floor, sleep with your friends, or sleep with Anna in her dog friendly bed.

This place is magical. But the magic would not be complete without the quiet, confident and gentle presence of our hostess – Anna, the resident dog whisperer. Before our first visit to the cottage, Anna gave us specific written instructions about how to behave when we arrived with Bailey. We followed her instructions and walked on a path through the woods and into the cottage , We were greeted by Anna and a happy group of several dog. There was no barking, no jumping and no running. We dropped Bailey’s leash (as instructed) and watched her explore the house and say hello to the other dogs. After a few moments we all strolled outside. As we walked the property, talking to Anna, we watched Bailey as she ran, sniffed, pee’d, investigated, and took a short dip in the little Gold Fish pond. Within moments, Bailey was confidently checking out everything and everyone around her. Her head was held high, and her tail pointed straight up as she pranced around the property and around the house. She acted like she owned the place.

Neither the cottage, the property nor the relaxed, harmonious environment that Bailey reacted to simply materialized through good luck or coincidence. Nothing about this place happened by accident. Anna has taken a lifelong love of animals and combined it with extraordinary intuition, sensitivity, knowledge and skills as a dog expert. Then she created an ideal physical environment in which to train and care for dogs. It’s truly amazing.

If you are looking for training, boarding, or both, Anna’s Wagadilly Cottage is an absolute treasure.

Steve & Ellen Weiss
Fairfax, Virginia

 

Carol G.

Carol G.
October 26, 2016
I have entrusted my dog several times to the care of Anna, over the last 4 years, and have always found him to be well cared for and having a wonderful time exploring the acres of fenced in woods. He gets to sleep with Anna in her room and she  sends me real-time email photos of him.

 

Emily  R.
Emily R.
October 25, 2016
Anna’s adorable English-country cottage sits on three wooded acres (all safely fenced in), where dogs can have lots of room to run and play. The property is especially nice because there is not a single kennel in sight. I hate the idea of leaving my dogs in a pound-like boarding facility where they’re locked up in small, chain link fenced runs with concrete floors. Wagadilly couldn’t be more different! Dogs never get locked away, they have free roam of the whole house and property – as long as owners are comfortable with that and the dogs are well-behaved. Anna is very attentive to every dog that comes through her property, treating them all as if they were her own children! My dogs absolutely love Anna, she always gives them lots of love and attention (they sleep in my bed at home and Anna lets them- and any dog who visits her – do the same when they’re at Wagadilly!) She does everything she can to make sure that every dog feels right at home with her.